Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

June 24, 2022

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below:

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Kaye G. Hearn, Justice of the Supreme Court, Seat 4, upon her retirement on or before December 31, 2022. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires July 31, 2032.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Blake A. Hewitt, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2023.

A vacancy will exist in the office formerly held by the Honorable H. Bruce Williams, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 2, upon his election to the Court of Appeals, Seat 5, Chief Judge. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which expires June 30, 2029.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Steven H. John, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Clifton Newman, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 3, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2023. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2027.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Nancy Chapman McLin, Judge of the Family Court, First Judicial Circuit, Seat 3. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Wayne M. Creech, Judge of the Family Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 4, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2023. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2025.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Jack A. Landis, Judge of the Family Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 6, upon his retirement on or before June 30, 2022. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the late Honorable Edgar H. Long, Judge of the Family Court, Tenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2025.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Timothy H. Pogue, Judge of the Family Court, Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2023. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2025.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Thomas Tredway Hodges, Judge of the Family Court, At-Large, Seat 7, will expire June 30, 2023.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Rosalyn W. Frierson, Judge of the Family Court, At-Large, Seat 8, will expire June 30, 2023.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Shirley C. Robinson, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 5, upon her retirement on or before June 30, 2023. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which will expire June 30, 2028.

A vacancy will exist in the newly created seat for Master-in-Equity of Pickens County, Thirteenth Circuit. The term will be from July 1, 2023, until June 30, 2029.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate, including judges seeking reelection, must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Note that an email will suffice for written notification. Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel
Post Office Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov or (803) 212-6689